The Seven Sacraments

A sacrament is an outward sign instituted by Christ to give grace. Each sacrament possesses the power from God to make the soul of the recipient holy and pleasing to Him. This supernatural power is termed sanctifying grace.
Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Orders are received once only because these sacraments imprint on the soul an indelible mark.


Baptism is the sacrament that gives our souls the life of sanctifying grace by which we become children of God and heirs of heaven. It takes away original sin. If an adult receives baptism with the proper dispositions that is with faith and contention his or her actual sins are taken away with original sin.
Baptisms are ordinarily celebrated on Saturdays at 1 P.M. Pre-baptism catechesis for new parents is required. Call for schedules and to register at least one month prior to the expected birth date of your child. Godparents who are not parishioners of St. Marguerite Bourgeoys need a sponsor certificate of recommendation from their parish stating they are registered and attend church regularly.

(Reconciliation, Confession)

The sacrament of Reconciliation is the sacrament by which sins committed after baptism are forgiven through the absolution of the priest and sanctifying grace is restored to the penitent.
It was instituted by Jesus Christ on the first Easter Sunday night. And, the first Easter Sunday night, our Lord fulfilled His promise to give His Apostles the power to forgive sins.
Jesus said “Receive the Holy Spirit; whose sins you shall forgive they are forgiven, and whose sins you shall retain they are retained ” (John 20:21-23).
This is a great sacrament and we experience the forgiveness of sins from God and help us to unburden ourselves and to have the peace and joy of God within ourselves.
Second grade children are taught about this wonderful sacrament and our teachers prepare them for First Confession or Reconciliation. First Confession takes place during the month of February.

First Holy Communion

Celebration of Mass or Holy Communion is the center of our Catholic faith and also the eye for the rest of the sacraments and He gave His Apostles the commission: “Do this in memory of me”.
The Holy Eucharist is also called the Blessed Sacrament, because it is the most of all sacraments. It gives us Christ Himself. The Holy Eucharist is called Holy Communion when it is received. In the Holy Eucharist, Christ is present wholly, body, blood, soul and divinity, under the appearance of bread and wine.


Confirmation is the sacrament through which the Holy Spirit comes to us in a special way and enables us to profess our faith as strong and perfect Christians and witnesses of Jesus Christ.
Children, who have received the sacraments of Penance and Holy Communion, are prepared through our Faith Formation Program. These children must attend Mass on Sundays and Holy Days of Obligation, preferably with their parents.
Confirmation is received at St. Marguerite’s during the December of ninth grade.


Matrimony is the sacrament by which a baptized man and woman bind themselves for life in a lawful marriage, and receive the grace to discharge their duties.
God instituted matrimony in the Garden of Eden, when He created Adam and Eve and said “for this reason a man leaves his father and mother, and clings to his a wife, and the two become one flesh”. (Gen.2.24)
A marriage between baptized non-Catholics, if contracted in a valid way, is always a sacrament. A marriage between two un-baptized persons, although not a sacrament, if contracted validly, is recognized valid by the church and is indissoluble.
Matrimony arrangements should be planned at least six months prior to your wedding date. Your wedding date and time need to be confirmed before other commitments are arranged. Diocesan Pre-Cana program is mandatory for all engaged couples planning to marry.

Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which men receive the power and grace to perform the sacred duties of bishops, priest and deacons. Our Lord, Jesus Christ, instituted this sacrament at the Last Supper when He said to his Apostles: “Do this in remembrance of me”. Anyone who wishes and has the intentions of devoting his life to the sacred ministry may call a priest or our seminary in Stamford for the details. We need more priests than ever before. The dignity of a priest is higher than any earthly dignity, for he is a representative of God.

Holy Anointing (Anointing of the Sick)

Holy Anointing is the sacrament through which the anointing with the blessed oil by a priest, and through prayer, gives health and strength to the soul, and sometimes to the body, when we are in danger of death from sickness, accident, or old age.